Too Much…

I have a habit of biting off more than I can chew at one time. When people start asking me questions of demanding things of me I try to say, “I already have too much food in my mouth.” Only it sounds like, “I awew haa oo uch oof e ouf.” And they just plow on. I start getting frustrated and then I get angry and snappy. The problem is, my mouth is still so full that I either say nothing or try to say something, but it is incomprehensible. You’d think after thirty years I’d have learned my lesson. I know what happens when I bite off more than I can chew. The outcome is never different, the plot and characters are just altered.

I did this again recently…surprise, surprise. I took on too much. I became overwhelmed and rundown. Everything got done, but I crossed the finish line with a lot of unnecessary wear and tear. I also found myself home sick, essentially needing to take a day off to recuperate…so I can do it all again. How do I pare my schedule down? I suppose the first step is in learning to say no a little more than I currently do. I’m not so good at saying no. I’ve gotten better over the years, but it is still a skill in its infancy stage of development in my life.

After a day of lots of rest and fresh juice I think I might be ready to tackle the real world again tomorrow. I will work to take things one at a time and breathe throughout my day.  Here’s hoping a good night sleep is all I need to venture back out onto the highway of life…maybe I’ll stick to the slow lane for the rest of this week.

About djunapassman

I teach yoga, write, and edit. I live in a Brooklyn neighborhood that is changing faster than I can, or care to, keep up with. Manhattan still beckons me to her island a few subways stops away, reminding me of when I lived amongst her daily hustle and bustle.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

