But I Want It Now…

Patience. This is something I struggle to find and cultivate in my life from time to time. Impatience rears its ugly head, makes me antsy, agitated, and frustrated in about 90% of the situations I find myself in then goes to find someone else to torment for awhile. Over the past few days I have spent a lot of time feeling like Violet Beauregard in Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory during the infamous scene where she tantrums, “But Daddy, I want an Oompa loompa NOW!” I want the light to change NOW, so I can cross the street without waiting or getting hit by a speeding taxi. I want the subway to come NOW, so I don’t have to stand on this stuffy platform wondering if any of my fellow New Yorkers are going try and push me on the tracks. I want my apartment to be clean NOW, so I can sit on my butt and do nothing for a little while. I want a perfect life NOW, so I can stop freaking out over when, or if, all of the pieces will finally fall into place. The list of what I want NOW really could go on and on and on right now.

At the beginning of a yoga class the other day the teacher asked us to set an intention. I immediately started thinking of a million different intentions I could set. As my mind journeyed off I was brought back to the present moment when I heard the teacher say, “Patience is always a good one.” “Oh, geez,” I thought. I felt my body start to sag like a teenager who has just been told her curfew is 10:00PM and not 11:00PM. If my eyes were open they probably would have automatically starting rolling. Great, even my yoga teacher is telling me I need to work on cultivating a little more patience right now. I took a deep breath and set patience as my intention for the class. And, just as it should, I suppose, it is taking patience for me to see that intention fulfilled.  I like to think that my continuing to believe in the possibility of my intention of patience is a sign of patience in and of itself. The fact that I have not yet given up on it must say something. Then again, it has only been a day. Sigh…

 

About djunapassman

I teach yoga, write, and edit. I live in a Brooklyn neighborhood that is changing faster than I can, or care to, keep up with. Manhattan still beckons me to her island a few subways stops away, reminding me of when I lived amongst her daily hustle and bustle.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

