Mornings, Here I Come…Okay, Not Really

I am not a morning person. I desperately wish I were, but alas…I am not. I have a tendency to get a second wind a little after 10:30PM every night. My body and brain reach new levels of clarity and creativity just as most people are getting ready for bed. As much as I dread waking up early I also secretively love it. Sure, I get so much anxiety over waking up on time the night before that I barely sleep. And when I wake up I spill as much coffee on myself as I manage to get in my mouth. And my eyes feel like sandpaper when I put my contact lenses in. All of that aside though, I love early mornings.

I love the quiet and calm of early mornings, especially in a city as busy as New York. No one is walking at a snail’s pace in front of me only to waver to the right or left every time I try to pass. There is a seat on the subway or bus…one that does not require touching my neighbor or sitting across from the homeless man who hasn’t showered in weeks. There are no honking horns. There is no construction work going on. The only thing I have to worry about is being rundown by one of those weekend warrior, I jog 10 miles every morning before 8:00AM, or I am training for the marathon crazies who feel that rising at dawn to run gives them the right to go in a straight line without stopping from start to finish. Weekend mornings have a feel that can only be likened to holidays, with the exception of knowing that every store will be opened in a few short hours so all your materialistic needs and wants can be catered to and millions of your fellow New Yorkers will rise from their slumbers and join you on the sidewalks shortly.

I know what you are all thinking right about now…why not adjust your schedule so that you go to bed earlier and wake up earlier if you love early mornings so much? Well, truth be told, my body just doesn’t want to be awake before 8:30AM. And it doesn’t want to be sleeping before midnight. I function best at night. Even after a night of far too little sleep my body does not want to go to bed before midnight. I am not hardwired to be a morning person. Neither of my parents are morning people so I was not born by nature or nurtured to get up before a reasonable hour, i.e., 9:00AM. And on a weekend, please, 9:00AM is early.

This morning I found myself awake at 6:30AM and out of my apartment by 7:30AM (I know all of you true morning people are snickering at me right now because to you 7:30AM is practically lunch time). This is a Sunday morning routine I will be maintaining for a while, for work purposes. My neighborhood was quiet. There was very little traffic. The constant noise of the subway line that may or may not come into existence during my lifetime was not present. My shins were safe from children on bikes and old people in motorized scooters. There was a crisp coolness in the air that only early autumn brings. The bus was practically empty. The only thing that would have made this morning better, other than not being half asleep and painfully tired, would have been if all you morning people hadn’t decided to get bagels at my little bagel shop creating a line that would have made me late to work had I stood in it. If you could get there just a little bit earlier next week that would be great, thanks.

About djunapassman

I teach yoga, write, and edit. I live in a Brooklyn neighborhood that is changing faster than I can, or care to, keep up with. Manhattan still beckons me to her island a few subways stops away, reminding me of when I lived amongst her daily hustle and bustle.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

