Dressing Up As A New Yorker Is Not A Costume

Halloween. What to say? Yes, I know I am a day early. This was the weekend to celebrate it though since the actual holiday falls on a Monday.  This year seemed a little more quiet than usual. Probably due to the early arrival of snow and ice. I don’t know very many people who were super excited to leave their homes and brave the cold, wet, ick falling from the sky all day and night. Did I mention it was cold and windy…and wet? Well, it was. Sorry all you ladies who think putting as little clothing on and calling yourself a sexy (fill-in-the-blank) counts as a real costume. This was not your year.

I had hoped to have something intriguing or at the very least mildly amusing about my Halloween site-seeing adventures in NYC this year, but there were relatively few sights. Traveling from Williamsburg back to the Upper East Side encompasses, well, Williamsburg, and Union Square, surely something more than mildly amusing must have crossed my path…that’s what you think. Dear Halloween dresser-uppers of NYC, you failed me. I have nothing to write about for my blog today thanks to your wussy, it’s snowing and sleeting and cold, so I’m staying home antics. The most amusing “costume” of the night was a guy dressed in a grey sweat suit with Timberland boots and yellow gloves shouting, “I’m a Slim Jim!” Yup, that’s all I got for ya.

About djunapassman

I teach yoga, write, and edit. I live in a Brooklyn neighborhood that is changing faster than I can, or care to, keep up with. Manhattan still beckons me to her island a few subways stops away, reminding me of when I lived amongst her daily hustle and bustle.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

