I Made It…31 Days!

I did not think this day would come, but here it is…the last day of my daily post month. When I promised myself I would write and post to this blog every day for the entire month of October I did not anticipate just how hard it was going to be. I did not anticipate all of the 10:00PM, shit I’ haven’t written yet and I don’t know what to write moments. I envisioned leisurely sitting down to write with a cup of coffee or glass of wine while the words just flowed forth. My fingers would spend at least an hour a day frantically flying across my keyboard producing brilliantly constructed sentences and paragraphs. That happened, oh…not at all during these 31 days. Long story short, this month of writing and posting was not at all what I had envisioned for myself or my writing.

Carving out time for something on a daily basis, even something you mostly enjoy, is difficult, especially at the beginning of building a habit. And sometimes life just gets in the way of life. Some days there are things that need far more attention than you intend them to give them. Sometimes things you never dreamt would happen, let alone directly impact your life, come flying your way and instead of reflexively ducking you get smacked in the head. Sitting down to write everyday felt like a chore at times. I was reminded of what Karen Maezen Miller wrote in her book, Hand Wash Cold, “Time has ahold of us. You know, the time we’re looking for. The time we missed. The time we’re going to give more time to if we ever find the time.” And in spite of it all, I somehow managed to make time for writing every day this month. Not always easily or enjoyably, but I did.

I read Twyla Tharp’s book, The Creative Habit, a few years ago. In the very first chapter she writes, “The routine is as much a part of the creative process and the lightning bolt of inspiration, maybe more… Without the time and effort invested in getting ready to create, you can be hit by the thunderbolt and it’ll just leave you stunned.” Doing anything, even a creative act, such as writing, takes practice and routine. I had a lot of practice this month. I also had the daily routine of coming home at night, turning on my computer, grumbling about the fact that I had to sit down and write a daily post for my blog, then writing. While I will not be posting daily in the month of November I will be setting aside time to write every day. It has become part of my routine, and as much as I hate to admit it when others are right, Twyla Tharp is correct when she asserts that creativity takes routine and practice. I have stopped waiting for the lightening bolt of inspiration to hit before sitting down to write and have started praying that the lightening bolt will hit sometime before or in the midst of my writing time each day.

I will not be posting daily in November, it would be an impracticality as there will be days when I will not have my computer this month. It’s good to unplug from time to time. I also do not think posting daily produced the highest quality of posts. You probably read the, I don’t know what to write today, sentence a few too many times this month. As I conclude this month of daily posts I am a little sad. I think I will miss the daily posting in some ways. I am also a little relieved that I not only made it through this month without breaking my promise to myself, but I can now put it behind me. Look out for two weekly posts for the month of November…they are going to be good…

About djunapassman

I teach yoga, write, and edit. I live in a Brooklyn neighborhood that is changing faster than I can, or care to, keep up with. Manhattan still beckons me to her island a few subways stops away, reminding me of when I lived amongst her daily hustle and bustle.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

