Travel At Your Own Risk…

I am sick. I have a crappy cold that is making me overly tired and achy at all times, plus my nose is dripping and my throat hurts. I AM MISERABLE! I am tired of being a good sport. It was kind of nice to stay home for one day and watch crappy TV all day while intermittently dozing. Then day two hit, then day three, then day four, and now I am done. I am sick of being sick. I had plans for the past week, ones that included me having fun and being out and about in the world. Plans that did not involve having weird fever induced dream after weird fever induced dream while napping on my couch in the middle of the day.

I know exactly where I got this cold from too. Exactly one week ago I was on the subway ride from hell. I got on the subway car early Sunday morning heading to work only to find myself trapped on a car with things that were so disgusting they are almost unmentionable…almost, not quite. There was a man across from me who kept sniffling, only not in the dainty Southern lady way, in the I am sucking back huge quantities of thick, germ infested mucus way. This would be followed by the not so subtle throat clearing to get those large quantities of snot to go back down his throat and begin the pathetic attempt to get out all over again. As I watched this routine I not only thought, “GROSS!” I also thought, “I am sitting directly across from him, which means all of those germs are flying straight on to me as I innocently sit here.”

As I stood to make my exit, my stop finally having arrived, Mr. Snot Buckets also stood. Of course, why on earth would he remain on the subway a moment longer? He was clearly there for the sole purpose of exposing me to his germs. While I stood waiting for the subway doors to open I glanced down at the business suit clad Asian man by the door. I watched him stick his right pointer finger into his nose, pull out a booger, and wipe it on the handrail next to him! I was speechless. Aren’t you supposed to stop doing that before the age of four? I know I did. Not only had I spent the last 15 minutes being exposed to germs that were now actively invading my body, but I had run the very real risk of placing my hand on some grown man’s boogers had I dared to grab on to the handrail as the train lurched to a stop. I may have some bad karma to burn off during this lifetime, but that was simply too much.

About djunapassman

I teach yoga, write, and edit. I live in a Brooklyn neighborhood that is changing faster than I can, or care to, keep up with. Manhattan still beckons me to her island a few subways stops away, reminding me of when I lived amongst her daily hustle and bustle.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

