Just Djuna Musings

It seems fitting to write about making granola today as I have been busily trying to fill my largest order to date in a very short period of time, i.e. a day and a half. I am just now sitting down to write because I have been busily making granola since getting home from work. While the number of orders, quantity in each order, and struggle to find time to not only make the granola but go to the store to replenish my supplies has been a little overwhelming, I have not been as stressed as I anticipated I might be.

I absolutely LOVE making granola. It has become a meditation of sorts for me. I tuck myself into my tiny kitchen with NPR playing in the background and begin measuring, mixing, and chopping. The granola I make is truly a labor of love. One of the ingredients needs to be chopped by hand, multiple attempts at using a food processor produced less than favorable results. And the granola cannot just be tossed in the oven and left alone for half an hour, it needs tending multiple times during the baking process. I do not get to start any great projects or occupy myself with much more than cleaning up the kitchen while the granola bakes. The granola gets my undivided attention and I get a much needed break from my life. There is nothing but the task at hand. I feel calm, relaxed, and joyful during the whole process.

At present my little granola venture is not bringing in the big bucks. I am making enough of a profit to think that this just might develop into something. This whole venture is teaching me that sharing what you love is not always easy, but it is definitely worth it. People like my granola and I love making it…seems like a win-win situation to me.

About djunapassman

I teach yoga, write, and edit. I live in a Brooklyn neighborhood that is changing faster than I can, or care to, keep up with. Manhattan still beckons me to her island a few subways stops away, reminding me of when I lived amongst her daily hustle and bustle.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

