‘Tis the Season to Buy, Buy, Buy

I have to admit, as much as I promised myself I would not fall prey to the consumerist side of the holidays this year I find myself wandering through random shops and perusing online sites almost daily. The bombardment of sales signs and images of pretty things that I do not own and need to own because it is nothing short of a Christmas miracle that I have been surviving for 30 years without these items have weaseled their way into my subconscious and now my conscious brain. I have refrained from purchasing anything this month. I have not bought anything for myself or for others. Everything that has been gifted thus far has been made from scratch in my kitchen and I do not intend to stop this trend. However, there is this little girl inside of me that wants something to celebrate the holiday season, some little token, a gift for myself. While I fully intend to stay strong and not shop this holiday season I am creating some boundaries should I slip.

I have decided that I am going to allow myself one gift, or one slip depending on how you look at it. I am allowed to purchase one item, and only one item. This item must be under $100. It also must be something that will get lots of use and not just add to my already crowded little apartment. I have a small list of possible things that I will share with you. You may then weigh in and let me know which one you think I should chose should I not be able to keep the consumerist bug from biting me this month. The size and quantity of shopping bags people are schlepping around the city these days is increasing almost hourly while I tote around…my handbag making me feel a little inadequate for not conforming. Okay wait, stop the presses! I just realized I lied. I have made a purchase this month. I bought a book. I have been unable to find any books that keep my interest over the past few weeks and I finally read a review of a book that truly caught my attention…so as soon as I received a coupon in my email from Barnes and Noble I went ahead and bought this book. Alright, now that I have gotten that off my chest I can continue.

Should I continue to slip down the consumerist rabbit hole, while reading my book, I will adhere to my boundaries. The list is as follows: 1. A pair of yoga leggings I have tried on at least five times now, fallen in love with because of how comfy they are and how great they make my butt look, and yet not purchased because $60 for a pair of leggings I will definitely wear weekly some how does not seem justifiable. 2. A watch. I have not picked one out, but I sort of miss wearing a watch on my wrist daily. The last watch I had, and loved, died within the first month of my last stint of employment at Bellevue. I know, it truly was a sign, but I wore that stupid thing for months and was either late or early to everything because of it. 3. A necklace commemorating my transition into teaching yoga. 4. This is being left open as I am sure something in some store window or on some online shopping site will catch my attention and I will find myself losing sleep over whether or not I should order it. Feel free to send me your opinions…or to simply say, “Keep your stinkin’ money and don’t buy anything because it’s all just a consumerist trap to make you think you can buy happiness when you really can’t.” I really should be re-reading the book edited by Stephanie Kaza, Hooked! Buddhist Writings on Greed, Desire, and the Urge to Consume.

About djunapassman

I teach yoga, write, and edit. I live in a Brooklyn neighborhood that is changing faster than I can, or care to, keep up with. Manhattan still beckons me to her island a few subways stops away, reminding me of when I lived amongst her daily hustle and bustle.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

