A Day Off

Oh, what to write today? I feel rather uninspired to write, or do much of anything today. I took the day off, something that has not happened in quite some time. I did not leave my apartment once. I have done a whole lot of nothing. I made one batch of granola. I did a little administrative work for the dance company. I Skyped with my friend in Poland. I watched a little TV. I played with the cat. Okay, now I am starting to sound like one of those lonely old people who gives you the play-by-play of her day even though she did nothing and there is no point to the story. I am writing for the sake of writing, just like the old people taking for the sake of talking.Oh boy, it’s gonna be a long, boring blog post today at the rate I’m going. I bet you’re really glad you took time out of your busy schedule to read my blog today.

While I have nothing to write about I am taking that as a good sign. I essentially turned off today. I found my off switch and I hit it. I relaxed. This is not something I do easily. I didn’t think about a whole lot, which means no witty stories to combat my anxiety, stress, or poor coping skills in a crazy world where I clearly do not get to call the shots as often as I would like to. I chose to live in New York City without actually dealing with New York City today. With the holiday madness in full swing I said, “No thank you.” It was quite refreshing.

About djunapassman

I teach yoga, write, and edit. I live in a Brooklyn neighborhood that is changing faster than I can, or care to, keep up with. Manhattan still beckons me to her island a few subways stops away, reminding me of when I lived amongst her daily hustle and bustle.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

