Calling It Quits Update

Earlier this month I wrote about the texting and walking epidemic on the sidewalks of New York City. It is essentially our version of texting and driving since most of us walk instead of driving. While taking your eyes of the sidewalk in front of you is not nearly as deadly as taking your eyes off the road in front of you while operating a large piece of metal and plastic, although if you get hit with a double wide stroller in just the right place it could prove lethal, it is still problematic. I vowed that I was going to stop texting and walking for the remainder of this month…I am now going to give you an update.

I have drastically cut back on my texting and walking. I no longer check my email on my iPone while walking. I did not go cold turkey and am still guilty of whipping out that phone to respond to a text or send one while walking. I think about it before I do it, but I still do it. What can I say, I am a work in progress. And while I have become more conscientious of my texting and walking I have also been more aware of just how many people cause traffic jams by trying to navigate the overcrowded streets of New York City while staring at their phones. It is obnoxious. I am tired of putting up with all of the meandering walkers, all of the people who nearly crash into me head on, all of the people who stop dead in their tracks half a foot in front of me all because they are checking their phones. And yet, I am enough of a hypocrite to continue doing this to some degree myself.

About djunapassman

I teach yoga, write, and edit. I live in a Brooklyn neighborhood that is changing faster than I can, or care to, keep up with. Manhattan still beckons me to her island a few subways stops away, reminding me of when I lived amongst her daily hustle and bustle.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

