Maybe Those Weight Watchers and Jenny Craig Commercials Aren’t So Funny After All

In the not so distant past I used to hear people talk about gaining weight over the holidays and wonder how exactly that was possible. Sure, there are numerous parties, baked goods, and a general over indulgence of food and drinks during the holiday season, but how could you possibly gain a significant amount of weight over the course of a month? Then this holiday season hit me, or should I say it hit my butt and gut. I now get what all of those people were talking about. I exercised too little self-control in the food department while failing to actually exercise.

I have not quite come to terms with the reality that my metabolism is slowing and I am becoming more sedentary. Not a winning combination. I have become one of the millions of Americans vowing to lose weight this year. The only problem is, I still have holiday cookies and chocolate in the house. I can’t possibly let them go to waste. That would be rude to the people who gave me these things as gifts. It would be wasteful for me to have bought things that I do not consume. The other night my friend gave me her fat jeans because they are too baggy on her. They barely fit me! Granted she is quite small and the jeans are not a large size, but still, they should not be tight on me.

As I sit here writing on an overly full stomach after a wonderful, but large meal celebrating a friend’s birthday I am already promising myself that tomorrow will be different. I will eat portions designed for a human instead of a baby elephant. I will go to the gym. I will take a yoga class. I will refrain from downing the remaining cookies and chocolate in my house in one sitting. I will not console myself over the fact that I now have the goal of comfortably fitting into someone else’s fat jeans by eating the remaining peppermint bark this skinny person gave me for the holidays. This whole holiday weight thing, it’s only temporary, right?

About djunapassman

I teach yoga, write, and edit. I live in a Brooklyn neighborhood that is changing faster than I can, or care to, keep up with. Manhattan still beckons me to her island a few subways stops away, reminding me of when I lived amongst her daily hustle and bustle.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

