Stuff

One of my many New Year’s resolutions this year, all of which are probably a little too far fetched to actually be carried out for the duration of 12 months, is to not buy anything new. Now of course this does not apply to things like toiletries, underwear, socks, food, but it does apply to stuff in general. I have everything I need right now. I do not need any more clothes, shoes, cooking toys, books, etc. If I find myself actually “needing” something I can scout around at the second hand stores, of which there are a plethora of in my neighborhood alone. I was doing really well with this resolution for the first four days of the month.

I have not bought anything thus far in 2012, but boy do I feel the pull starting. This is the week that everyone sends out their spring catalogs. Spring clothes have started popping up in store window displays. Now mind you, spring is nowhere in sight in New York, it was 14° yesterday. And yet, I am being teased by new dresses and skirts and tops in fun new styles and colors. Suddenly I want again. What I have is not good enough. I want the new stuff. I want the stuff I don’t have. Isn’t that the story of life? Don’t we always want what we don’t, or can’t, have?

I am not the only one who has put buying less stuff on their resolution list this year. This is clearly not my plight alone. People I know are struggling with the same thing right along side me. And yet, it doesn’t necessarily make me feel better. It makes me kind of sad. We have been brainwashed into thinking that we constantly need more stuff. Don’t get me wrong, stuff is nice, but there is something disturbing about always needing newer, better things to replace what we already have, especially if you are one of the few fortunate ones who genuinely has all the stuff she needs.

About djunapassman

I teach yoga, write, and edit. I live in a Brooklyn neighborhood that is changing faster than I can, or care to, keep up with. Manhattan still beckons me to her island a few subways stops away, reminding me of when I lived amongst her daily hustle and bustle.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

