Fashion Question #2

Walking home last night I passed by a Weiner dog wearing a purple puffer coat that looked very similar to the coat my friend just bought her baby. When did it become a necessity for dogs to have sweaters, vests, and coats? I’m pretty sure dogs have survived thousands of years without human reminiscent clothing. Dogs sleep outside, yes, there are doghouses, but last time I checked they did not have doors of indoor heating. Fur. They have fur. We wear coats because we are not covered in fur. Our skin is also thinner. I may be wrong, but I’m pretty sure the Native Americans, after making leather coats for themselves, didn’t look at the little leftover scraps and say, “Let’s make coats for our dogs.” When did it go beyond being an accessory and become a necessity? I have overheard more than a few people mutter in shock, “I can’t believe that dog doesn’t have a sweater, it’s so cold out today.” I was watching my friend’s baby the other day and every time we would pass by a dog wearing clothing I would point it out to her, she would giggle then say, “Silly.” One woman walking a fluffy white dog in a hot pink sweater actually glared at us. Really? Even a child under the age of two knows your dog looks stupid. What have we come to?

About djunapassman

I teach yoga, write, and edit. I live in a Brooklyn neighborhood that is changing faster than I can, or care to, keep up with. Manhattan still beckons me to her island a few subways stops away, reminding me of when I lived amongst her daily hustle and bustle.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

