Welcome Back Old Friend

For the last seven days I consumed no caffeine, sugar, dairy, or alcohol. My insides felt amazing! I felt like shit! It’s a very bizarre thing to wrap your brain around, I know, I’ve spent the last six days trying to figure out how that can be. I felt like someone took a huge toothbrush to my insides. I was sparkly clean. And yet, I felt awful. I had no patience. I snapped at people. My frustration tolerance was at a negative 10. I was cranky and miserable and finding minimal joy in things that I love. I’m quite certain if any of my friends believed in bitch slapping those they love I would have been doing a lot of ducking over the course of the past week.

Notice the past tense of the previous paragraph. Today I had caffeine! Oh glorious caffeine. I am those coffee mugs that say, “Instant human, just add coffee.” As soon as I had a few sips in me I felt alive again. I felt human. The fog lifted. I no longer felt the crankiness that had been enshrouding me. I was trying to do something good for my body and it had backfired. How can doing something so good for your body make you feel so crappy? Physically I felt great, but that only counts for one portion of my being. Now I will admit, I have had a cold for all of this fresh juicing instead of coffee, cleansing period, but what I felt went far beyond my usual sick grumpiness.

Tomorrow starts my new ritual. I will continue to juice first thing in the morning (couple of handfuls of kale, 3-4 stalks of celery, ½ an apple, 2 carrots, ½ a cucumber, broccoli stalk, chunk of ginger) then I will sit and savor one amazing cup of coffee. It is going to make life better. I just know it. I am going to continue with the no dairy and move back toward moderation with the sugar and alcohol. Mid-holiday insanity dunking cookies into my fourth cup of coffee in the morning was becoming a daily thing, so was having at least one drink 4-5 nights a week. I like eating healthy. I like the taste of most vegetables, raw, really, I do. I also like enjoying life and having a cup of coffee in the morning and a cookie or a glass of wine when the mood hits. So here’s to juicing and moderation…you may now raise your glass of whatever your chosen beverage is and join me in saying, “Cheers!”

About djunapassman

I teach yoga, write, and edit. I live in a Brooklyn neighborhood that is changing faster than I can, or care to, keep up with. Manhattan still beckons me to her island a few subways stops away, reminding me of when I lived amongst her daily hustle and bustle.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

