I’m Back

Today marks my return to posting on this blog daily, which means I will be writing daily. I took a small break while I was on vacation. Part of me missed the routine of writing and posting daily, and part of me felt great freedom in not putting my thoughts and feelings into words that I then shared. I had several moments that I desperately wanted to write about, and yet I did not. There was something sort of nice about having these moments all to myself and not sharing them with anyone, little treasures all for me. As I sit writing now I realize how much I missed this, this time to sit, reflect, write, and share.

My time away from daily blogging led my little brain to wander off and recall why I began this blog in the first place. I started writing this blog because a friend, who had been saving emails from me, encouraged me to publically share my stories. I apparently was quite funny in these emails that relayed snippets of my everyday life. I also needed a way to be held accountable for writing regularly. When you don’t share your work on a regular basis it becomes dangerously easy to let days, then weeks, and dare I even say it…months go by without really sitting down to write.

I have this dream, which has begun feeling more like a fantasy in the last year, to write and publish a book. Taped to the wall above my desk is a New Yorker cartoon of a gravestone that reads:

George Appleton Harvey

1928-2003

He never got around to writing that novel

I put it there as a constant reminder to myself to write. And so tonight, I am vowing to myself to write daily. To not only write for this blog, but to also write for that book that has somehow faded so far into the distance that it no longer feels like a reality. The time to focus on my writing has come.

About djunapassman

I teach yoga, write, and edit. I live in a Brooklyn neighborhood that is changing faster than I can, or care to, keep up with. Manhattan still beckons me to her island a few subways stops away, reminding me of when I lived amongst her daily hustle and bustle.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

