Grump in Downward Dog

I woke up feeling exhausted and grumpy this morning. The cat was way more interested in hunting pigeons through the window then cuddling with me and the sun illuminating my apartment let me know I had slept in much later than I had intended to, which I hate. I grumped about for a little while before plopping down on the couch to read and drink my coffee. While I did not want to, I dragged myself off the couch to start my daily yoga practice.

I took my yoga mat out of the closet, unrolled it, and then surrendered it to the cat while she smelled it and stretched on it for a while. Finally I decided it was time to make myself get on that mat and engage in my daily practice. Before getting on my mat I promised myself I would practice for one hour. While I have gotten much better at engaging in a daily practice that lasts anywhere from 30 minutes to an hour and a half there are still days, like today, when I have very little qualm with plopping my butt on my mat for five minutes and calling it a done deal.

I started moving. My body was sore and tight. My lower back was screaming. I felt heavy and cranky. I deepened my breaths and began doing sun salutations. I’m not sure at what point things started shifting, but I do know that when I stepped off my mat an hour later I felt better, not amazing, but ready to tackle the day with a little more energy and a slightly less cantankerous spirit. Yoga always makes me feel better. And yet, I forget this, almost daily. Well, I suppose I don’t forget so much as I struggle to overcome all of the petty excuses I can concoct to keep me from my mat. After six years of a steady, regular practice, a teacher training to build the necessary skills needed to share my love of yoga with others, and daily reaffirmations that yoga makes me mentally, emotionally, and physically feel better I still have days when I just don’t wanna do it. Will that ever change?

About djunapassman

I teach yoga, write, and edit. I live in a Brooklyn neighborhood that is changing faster than I can, or care to, keep up with. Manhattan still beckons me to her island a few subways stops away, reminding me of when I lived amongst her daily hustle and bustle.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

