Oh, Venus

The last night I was in California I did something I haven’t done in a very long time, I wished on the first star I saw. I was walking through the Elfin Forest near my parents’ house when I saw the sliver of the moon appear and right next to it a star. “Star light, star bright. The first star I see tonight. I wish I may, I wish I might. Have the wish I wish tonight.” Turns out that star was actually Venus. I would fail to wish upon an actual star.

The wish was not important and neither was the fact that my star was actually a planet. What was important was that I took time to stop and pay attention. I stopped to really notice the moon and the stars that began filling the sky after I made my wish. I acknowledged what I really wanted in that moment.

About djunapassman

I teach yoga, write, and edit. I live in a Brooklyn neighborhood that is changing faster than I can, or care to, keep up with. Manhattan still beckons me to her island a few subways stops away, reminding me of when I lived amongst her daily hustle and bustle.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

