What Color is Your Sadness?

There are different shades of sad. The sadness of my favorite wine shop closing, it is right outside of the subway on my way home and has tasty inexpensive wines bagged by a quirky array of staff. The sadness of the Indian restaurant around the corner that is empty with signs posted stating their lease ended on February 5th causing them to close their doors.  The sadness of walking by a bar in my neighborhood to witness a dolled up drag queen performing for two middle aged women who are too drunk to appreciate the show or even stay on their bar stools. The sadness of my having an awesome opportunity to teach this weekend in part because someone’s father passed away. The sadness at my bank account being overdrawn yet again because my bills and income are dead even right now, which means one day off between a check deposit and a bill payment clearing causes negative numbers to appear. The sadness that the book I’ve been reading had an unpredictable, at first, outcome that just kind of ruined the magic that had been created over the course of several hundreds of pages. The sadness that this is life…take it or leave it.

About djunapassman

I teach yoga, write, and edit. I live in a Brooklyn neighborhood that is changing faster than I can, or care to, keep up with. Manhattan still beckons me to her island a few subways stops away, reminding me of when I lived amongst her daily hustle and bustle.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

