Did You Know, They Mate for Life?

Since it is Valentine’s Day I will write about love. I have been observing this couple for months now. I wish I could remember exactly when I first took note of them, but that detail escapes me, it was probably around November. I watched as the male pestered the female day after day. Then the female slowly began to cave, allowing the male to get close, and even returning his affection, slowly, tentatively at first, then with more passion. I started noticing them spending more and more time together until it became a rare sight to see them apart.

It was a little over a month ago when I discovered they had taken the big step of creating a home together. They had officially moved in together. I could hear them serenading each other in the mornings. There was no denying their coupledom. It was at this point that I found myself a little annoyed, the constant touching, the googly love eyes, the constant auditory expression of their love for one another. They were that couple.

And now, you’ve guessed it, there is about to be living proof of their love for one another. There is going to be a baby. They have come down from their lovey dovey phase to a more grounded place of baby preparation. I have been amazed as I’ve witnessed both of them take on equal responsibility for this new life they are about to bring into the world. They spend time cuddling and communicating in a very different sounding way than the morning serenades of lore. I am looking forward to witnessing how they handle the new baby and the next stages of their relationship. And thankfully, I will have front row seats to the theater of their lives because they are pigeons that have courted, nested, and reproduced right outside my apartment window.

About djunapassman

I teach yoga, write, and edit. I live in a Brooklyn neighborhood that is changing faster than I can, or care to, keep up with. Manhattan still beckons me to her island a few subways stops away, reminding me of when I lived amongst her daily hustle and bustle.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

