Fine…You Win

It seems unanimous, everyone this week has said I need to take some time off, slow down, take care of myself. It also seems no one asked me for my vote in this election. I guess that’s democracy for you.  While I have been trying to do better at giving myself time off without feeling guilty or undeserving of that time, I guess I’m still not doing such a great job at it. The constant and extreme levels of exhaustion, the achy body, the headaches, the tears, the increase of coffee consumption over the last week, and the fact that I missed my subway stop this afternoon (and not because I was engrossed in great reading material) are probably all signs that it is time to slow down a bit. The attempt to slow down and take time off begins tonight. I am prepared to do a whole lot of nothing for the remainder of the evening and allow myself to sleep in tomorrow morning. I’ll try not to have an ounce of guilt about this either.

About djunapassman

I teach yoga, write, and edit. I live in a Brooklyn neighborhood that is changing faster than I can, or care to, keep up with. Manhattan still beckons me to her island a few subways stops away, reminding me of when I lived amongst her daily hustle and bustle.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

