Ahhh…Sweet Nothing

I did something today that I have not done in a very, very, very, very long time. I stayed in my pajamas all day. I did not a damn thing today. Okay, that is not true, but I did nothing I didn’t want to do. I stayed in my apartment clad in flannel jammies pants and an old sweater all day…this will be continuing into the evening hours as well. I mean come on, Garrison Keillor is retiring next year, I can’t not listen A Prairie Home Companion on NPR tonight.

After a week of physically and emotionally unraveling I decided it was time to stop and figure out how to hit my reset button. I spent a lot of time doing nothing, reading, watching TV, eating, writing, and playing with the cat. I do realize I have ruined my cat, she now thinks that all of her waking hours will be spent cuddling, eating, or hunting a piece of ribbon I am trailing behind me. The funny thing is, I was actually quasi-productive today as well. I cleaned my apartment. I got around to stuff that has been on my to-do-list since I got back from California (last month). I spent time writing, and not just for this blog. I did not feel guilty for one minute during the day. This is progress folks…or exhaustion at it’s greatest. I am very good at getting stuck in overdrive until the engine overheats and finally blows. This is a vicious cycle I have been getting caught in over and over and over again. Maybe someday I will learn. After a day of a whole lot of nothing I feel ready to reenter the world again, after a shower and change of clothes that is.

About djunapassman

I teach yoga, write, and edit. I live in a Brooklyn neighborhood that is changing faster than I can, or care to, keep up with. Manhattan still beckons me to her island a few subways stops away, reminding me of when I lived amongst her daily hustle and bustle.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

