Brooklyn, Here I Come…Maybe

The debate of whether or not to move to Brooklyn has been slowly becoming less of a debate and more of a reality. I’m still on the fence, but I think I’ve got 1 ½ butt cheeks over that fence, on the Brooklyn side. I have been compiling a list of things that an apartment must have in order for me to uproot myself from my current little studio on the Upper East Side.

Things that I need:

  • Allows cats
  • Rent under $1500/month (rent stabilized highly preferred)
  • 1 Bedroom (2 would be awesome)
  • Bathtub (this in non negotiable)
  • Kitchen (must have full fridge and stove, cabinets, and counter tops)
  • Laundry (For those of you who do not know, I HATE doing laundry. There must be laundry in the building…in the apartment would be the most amazing thing to happen ever.)
  • Within walking distance of a park (I need to romp through grass and see trees instead of buildings on a regular basis.)
  • Near 2 subway lines (one must be no more than a 5 minutes walk away)
  • Grocery store close by (one that sells real produce)
  • Coffee Shop (Sometimes I need a change of scenery during heavy editing times.)
  • Not on first floor

Things I would love, but survive without:

  • Roof access or yard
  • Within walking distance of water (this may not be so optional the more I think about it.)
  • Decent yoga studio within walking distance
  • Wine shop near by (one where I can have conversations about wine with the employees and get good wines under $20/bottle)
About djunapassman

I teach yoga, write, and edit. I live in a Brooklyn neighborhood that is changing faster than I can, or care to, keep up with. Manhattan still beckons me to her island a few subways stops away, reminding me of when I lived amongst her daily hustle and bustle.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

