Creativity, Please Come Back Home…Now

I have felt very stuck lately. To put it frankly, I not only have writer block, but I have creative block. It’s as if my creativity went on vacation and now that I have phoned it, asking it to come home, it has gotten stuck at some remote airport waiting on standby for a flight that doesn’t seem to be coming. I picked up Natalie Goldberg’s Writing Down the Bones today. I needed some inspiration. I needed a good kick in the pants, a reminder that you write, create, all the time, no matter how you’re feeling or where the hell your creativity decided to go on vacation without telling you first.

As I was sifting through the book I realized that I should to sit down and read it cover to cover again. I need to start over, reclaim my beginner’s mind. I found myself struck by a few things she wrote in this lovely little book. “It takes a while for our experiences to sift through our consciousness…. Our senses by themselves are dumb. They take in experience, but they need the richness of sifting for a while through our consciousness and through our whole bodies.” There is a lot to be sifted through right now. Maybe I just need to be a little more patient with myself. Maybe it is time to take the notebooks out of the closet and start sitting down with pen and paper everyday again.  It may just be time to start writing this unsifted stuff down so that I can return to it later. At the very least it will get everything out. As Goldberg says, “When I’m cranky now, miserable, dissatisfied, pessimistic, negative, generally rotten, I recognize it as a feeling. I know the feeling can change. I know it is energy that wants to find a place in the word and wants friends.” I need to get out the notebooks so all of this stuff can play, and not inside my poor little overtired brain. I shall leave you with what I find the most humorous, and most profound, quote from this book, “Writing is not a McDonald’s hamburger. The cooking is slow…”

About djunapassman

I teach yoga, write, and edit. I live in a Brooklyn neighborhood that is changing faster than I can, or care to, keep up with. Manhattan still beckons me to her island a few subways stops away, reminding me of when I lived amongst her daily hustle and bustle.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

