Eureka!

I found a diamond! I can’t believe I forgot to tell you I found a diamond this week. Around 5:30PM on Monday, against all odds, I found a tear-shaped diamond. Oh, I suppose you want more details now. Fine. I shall shatter the magnificence of having found a diamond by telling you the real story.

I got to work Monday evening to find the studio manager talking with a woman with a stroller. Turns out this mom and tot were at the studio in the morning for the kick and play class. Kick and play is a pretend soccer class for kids who are too young to actually play soccer in which the moms and nannies chase after wayward balls their toddlers have tossed or kicked in some random direction. It’s kind of like adult fetch, taught by 19 year olds who think they are going to be great actresses, and toddlers crying and running amok. While chasing after a ball her toddler had sent in some corner of the room this woman hit her ring against the wall. Really, it would have been hard to not hit this ring against everything within a foot radius. The woman was rightfully very upset. I looked at her ring, looked at the rock flanked by one, instead of two, tear-shaped mini rock, and promised to look in the studio after the class occurring let out.

Soon after the rock, err, ring gazing I found myself slowly walking the perimeter of the yoga studio. Plastic mint wrapper (stupid yogis who can’t throw their trash in the trash can), dust bunny (where do they come from with all of the regular vacuuming?), sticker (left over from stupid kids’ class), Cheerio (also leftover from stupid kids’ class), dust bunny, plastic mint wrapper (really? throw your trash away!) super shiny thing, dust…super shiny thing. Diamond! I found it. After a class of twenty this afternoon and another class of four, all of the mat unrolling and rerolling, prop shuffling, foot stomping, this “little” diamond had survived and remained in plain sight. I found a diamond! I saved the day! (Let me have my moment here.)

About djunapassman

I teach yoga, write, and edit. I live in a Brooklyn neighborhood that is changing faster than I can, or care to, keep up with. Manhattan still beckons me to her island a few subways stops away, reminding me of when I lived amongst her daily hustle and bustle.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

