I Don’t Wanna

I don’t want to write today. There I said it. I don’t know what to write and I don’t want to write. I have distracted myself in every way possible and now here I am…stuck. Sitting down to write is actually making me feel a bit like a two year about to tantrum. I don’t wanna, I don’t wanna, I don’t wanna!

The following words from The Artist’s Way, by Julia Cameron, have never felt truer. “Remember, your artist is a creative child. It sulks, throws tantrums, holds grudges, harbors irrational fears. Like most children, it is afraid of the dark, the bogeyman, and any adventure that isn’t safely scary. As your artist’s parent and guardian, its big brother, warrior, and companion, it falls to you to convince your artist it is safe to come out and (work) play.”

My creative child is in a fowl mood. It is not feeling like coming out to play tonight and I do not feel like nurturing her and finding a way to calm her down. I would rather sit on the opposite end of the room eating ice cream and hoping she doesn’t scream too loudly or throw anything expensive and breakable.

About djunapassman

I teach yoga, write, and edit. I live in a Brooklyn neighborhood that is changing faster than I can, or care to, keep up with. Manhattan still beckons me to her island a few subways stops away, reminding me of when I lived amongst her daily hustle and bustle.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

