Time Has Flown the Coop

I just read a friend’s blog about how she is perceiving time as going faster now that she is getting older. I just looked at the calendar and realized all the things that are due at the end of March, things that I thought I had months to plug away at, are actually due in 19 days. Those pesky things due on the 15th are, well, they are due in two days and currently making my brain hurt…a lot. In truth, I kind of feel like someone hit my panic button. Where has the time gone? Didn’t 2012 just start? Where have the last two and a half months gone? I’m serious. This is not a rhetorical or trick question. Where has the time gone?

When I was younger I recall hearing “old” people say that time goes more quickly as you get older. It was one of those things I heard, filed, away, and thought, “yeah right” about. Those dumb “old” people, they were always trying to impart wisdom that was stupid and useless. I’m sorry “old” people, you were right, time doesn’t just fly when you’re having fun, it flies when you are getting older. It makes getting through hard times a little more bearable, but it sure does make my adult years seem a whole lot shorter than I previously thought they would be.

So what’s a, rapidly getting older, girl to do? I can’t stop time. I can’t make it slow down. I could make my to-do-lists shorter, but then I’d be cutting out really important stuff. I practice yoga daily, and with that the often difficult task of staying in the moment at all times. The problem with staying in the moment while time seems to be speeding up is the past is rapidly growing in length behind me and the future is far less distant than it once seemed. Kind of like March 31st is way closer than I think it should be and January 1st is actually quite a bit farther behind me than I would like to think it is. I don’t quite know what to do with this new reality. Although, I guess it will be an old reality pretty quickly at this rate.

About djunapassman

I teach yoga, write, and edit. I live in a Brooklyn neighborhood that is changing faster than I can, or care to, keep up with. Manhattan still beckons me to her island a few subways stops away, reminding me of when I lived amongst her daily hustle and bustle.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

