Writing

My friend sent me the information for a writing contest a few weeks ago. The deadline to enter is March 31, 2012. I promised myself I was going to enter…I have yet to actually write anything new or edit anything old to submit. I now have 14 days to pull something together or simply throw in the towel. Writing and sharing my writing are important to me and yet I struggle to really set aside time to write daily. Setting aside time for this blog on a daily basis can feel like an overwhelming chore some days. The fear of sharing my writing and really putting it out there feels like a looming dark cloud over my head. And so I have put it all out there in hopes that I will finally be able to sit my butt down and seriously work on my entry tomorrow. I turned to the book Art & Fear: Observations on the Perils (and Rewards) of Art Making this evening and found a passage that felt relevant to my current dilemma: “Making art can feel dangerous and revealing. Making art is dangerous and revealing. Making art precipitates self-doubt, stirring deep waters that lay between what you know you should be, and what you fear your might be.”

About djunapassman

I teach yoga, write, and edit. I live in a Brooklyn neighborhood that is changing faster than I can, or care to, keep up with. Manhattan still beckons me to her island a few subways stops away, reminding me of when I lived amongst her daily hustle and bustle.
This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

