The Hunchback of the Upper East Side

While I am aware of the fact that I do not have the best posture I didn’t realize just how bad it was until yesterday. My friend had taken some candid photos while we were at the park and sent them to me. There’s me slouched, hunched over, letting my belly protrude out and my shoulders roll forward as if I were trying to impersonate Quasimodo in every picture. I was horrified. How did this happen? When did this happen? I thought I was just a little slouched. Sure I could work on opening my shoulders and chest. Sure I should sit up taller. In the running for worst posture of the year? I didn’t think so…until I saw these pictures.

Today I took a class that was all about posture, how the body naturally moves, and releasing the unnecessary tension and mental blocks preventing us from moving with ease, clarity, and the natural mechanics of how our bodies are built. I hold a lot of tension in my body. I use my muscles even when I could, and perhaps should, release, especially in my stomach, shoulders, and hips. Maybe I can’t manage to sit up straight because I am so exhausted from over using and using the wrong muscles all the time. Maybe I am trying to protect myself from…from what? My feelings? Other people? Impending doom that has not, and may not, crack down? Life? The philosophy of the method I learned in this class is that bad posture means bad health, mentally, emotionally, and physically. I know the body and mind are intricately connected. I also know posture is a part of the body-mind connection. So the real question is, why have I suddenly become an aspiring hunchback?

About djunapassman

I teach yoga, write, and edit. I live in a Brooklyn neighborhood that is changing faster than I can, or care to, keep up with. Manhattan still beckons me to her island a few subways stops away, reminding me of when I lived amongst her daily hustle and bustle.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

