I Should Take Myself Less Seriously

I’m good at freaking out about things, large and small. I’ve gotten better over the years. Yoga has helped greatly. I remain calm for longer periods of time. My meltdowns take longer to build and their eruptions are a little less far reaching than they used to be. Still, the bottom line is, I’m an over worrier, over stresser, over freaker outer. It’s in my genes. Every once in a while I get a good smack over the head with the reality that life really isn’t that serious. The bottom line is, we’re all going to die, the worst is going to happen so we might as well lighten up a little.

I spent the morning and afternoon with my friend’s two year old. We spent time building towers and castles with her blocks, dancing around the living room, and giggling hysterically as she dropped blocks in the crack between the wall and her bed. Why was this so funny? I’m sure neither of us could tell you. It was though. At some point in the midst of all the laughter I thought, “This is what is really important, not the meltdown and subsequent anger over my stupid taxes I had yesterday.”

Before nap time the little one said she was hungry. I stood by the shelves in the pantry verbalizing everything I saw. I said, “Ice cream cones,” as my eyes fell on the box of ice cream cones. Instantly I heard a little voice say, “Yeah!” It was decided, we were having ice cream cones for lunch. We chose which ice cream to put in our cones, added sprinkles on top, then clanked our cones together excitedly saying, “Cheers!” We sat on the couch together giggling, asking each other if the ice cream cones were good, and slurping our ice cream. Life is uncertain, eat dessert first…and giggle often.

About djunapassman

I teach yoga, write, and edit. I live in a Brooklyn neighborhood that is changing faster than I can, or care to, keep up with. Manhattan still beckons me to her island a few subways stops away, reminding me of when I lived amongst her daily hustle and bustle.
This entry was posted in Life Lessons, Little Ones. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

