Here Comes the Sun

I woke up at 5:30AM this morning. For someone who is not a morning person and did not manage to get herself to bed before 11:00PM last night this was quite a feat. I was bound and determined to see the sun rise this morning. I checked online last night to see exactly what time the sun would be rising, 6:13AM, then set about making sure I actually dragged my butt one block from my front door to the East River.

I’m not sure why I had such a strong desire to see the sun rise this morning. Perhaps it was a need to feel more grounded and connected. Maybe it was the need to experience a beautiful and momentous event that happens every day, but that I fail to acknowledge, let alone observe. Truth be told, I do not actually remember the last time I watched the sun rise. I don’t think I have ever consciously set out to watch the sun usurp the moon in the sky.

I saw the “rosy fingered dawn” that Homer wrote about. I found myself in awe. It was so quiet and peaceful by the water. The city was still waking up, well, except for all of the joggers. I saw several women pushing jogging strollers while they ran…none of them contained human children. Shouldn’t pushing your dog, or dogs, in a jogging stroller at sunrise be against some sort of law? I felt a sense of grounding and peacefulness that I have not experienced in a long time. I was able to slow down and just be. I felt alive and humbled. In the presence of something so magnificent it is hard to not feel like a tiny piece of a very large, interconnected web that weaves us all together. I think we all need reminders from time to time of just how insignificant, yet special we all are in the grand scheme of things.

“Even 
After 
All this time

The Sun never says to the Earth,

“You owe me.”

Look

What happens

With a love like that,

It lights the whole sky.” 
~ Hafez

About djunapassman

I teach yoga, write, and edit. I live in a Brooklyn neighborhood that is changing faster than I can, or care to, keep up with. Manhattan still beckons me to her island a few subways stops away, reminding me of when I lived amongst her daily hustle and bustle.
This entry was posted in Life Lessons, NYC Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

