Welcome to the Present Moment

I promised myself I would start writing daily on the first of the month. New month, fresh start. And here I am, bleary-eyed and exhausted after spending all day in front of the computer editing, wanting nothing more than to blow off this blog writing for one more day. Just one more day, “tomorrow I will really starting writing daily again,” I promise myself. And yet I know, tomorrow will be another day filled with too many things to do, none of which include writing for this blog. So, here I am, forcing myself to write tonight, if for no other reason than to get back in the habit.
I have felt overwhelmed by life lately. I have been struggling to find time for myself. I have been failing at dedicating time to things that are important to me, like this blog. Instead of tackling one thing at a time while staying calm I have let myself slip out of being present in the moment with what I am doing and freak out over the big picture. “Forget that you am trying to write for your blog,” my brain says, “plan the classes you are teaching tomorrow, freak out over finishing the two theses you need to get back to students tomorrow, get overwhelmed by how full you schedule is tomorrow, freak out over whether or not you will find the perfect apartment to move into by the end of the month and whether or not the apartment you saw the other day will still be available when you make your final decision.” You brilliant readers will notice none of my brain’s ramblings have anything to do with today or right now for that matter. Right now I am writing my blog. Right now I am taking a sip of a new wine I found, it is rather tasty. Right now I am taking a bite of pizza. Right now I am okay. Focusing on right now, not so bad. Focusing on things to come, overwhelming. Maybe some day I will learn my lesson.

About djunapassman

I teach yoga, write, and edit. I live in a Brooklyn neighborhood that is changing faster than I can, or care to, keep up with. Manhattan still beckons me to her island a few subways stops away, reminding me of when I lived amongst her daily hustle and bustle.
This entry was posted in Mindfulness (or quieting an overactive mind), Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

