No Sleep ’til Brooklyn

Apartment hunting has turned into a bit of a nightmare. I don’t remember being this stressed out last time I looked for an apartment in this grand city. I did not get the apartment I had my heart set on. Okay, no big deal, moving on. Only, I have to move at the end of the month. I have exactly 23 days to secure a new home, the clock is ticking and my anxiety is rising. Suddenly scheduling viewings has taken over my life. I can’t keep phone numbers, names, and addresses straight and I don’t seem to have enough time in each day to look at apartments and accomplish anything else.

A few days ago the world lost a great musician, Adam Yauch, otherwise known as, MCA, one of the Beastie Boys. He, and the other two Beastie Boys are fellow Bardians (we’ll gloss over the fact that they dropped out). Their music has been hugely influential to many and has brought me many hours of joyous dancing. They also wrote a great song, No Sleep Till Brooklyn. I’ve always loved the song. And now it has taken on a whole new meaning. I have not been able to sleep since the apartment hunting really began. I doubt sleep will return until I secure my new home, in Brooklyn. Thank you Beastie Boys for your music and thank you for providing the soundtrack and theme song to my apartment hunting adventures.

About djunapassman

I teach yoga, write, and edit. I live in a Brooklyn neighborhood that is changing faster than I can, or care to, keep up with. Manhattan still beckons me to her island a few subways stops away, reminding me of when I lived amongst her daily hustle and bustle.
This entry was posted in NYC Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

