Apartment Hunting in NYC

This afternoon there was an open house in my apartment. It was nowhere near as awful as I thought it would be. Things I learned from strangers romping through my home and a Russian broker sitting in my apartment with me:

1. The owner of my building is indeed a jerk and even the broker knows they attempted to raise my rent too much and are asking a tad too much for the place.

2. When people feel awkward and you go out of your way to make them comfortable everyone wins.

3. Laughter is a great way to instantly connect with people.

4. My apartment really is pretty great. (I just forget sometimes.)

5. I am not the only one who has suffered through looking at one awful apartment after another. (One guy had looked at 35 apartments prior to this one!)

6. I’m not as bad at interior design as I thought I was. (People really liked the way I have decorated and arranged my home…so much so several people wanted to know if the furniture came with the place.)

7. I have much higher standards than most. No one looked in the bathroom, checked to see how much closet space there is, or paid any attention to the kitchen. (I have rifled through so many closets and kitchen cabinets examining the amount of space available and thoroughly looked over bathrooms to a point that I am now embarrassed to admit.)

8. I truly will not have a home come June 1st is the apartment I applied for on Friday falls through.

About djunapassman

I teach yoga, write, and edit. I live in a Brooklyn neighborhood that is changing faster than I can, or care to, keep up with. Manhattan still beckons me to her island a few subways stops away, reminding me of when I lived amongst her daily hustle and bustle.
This entry was posted in NYC Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

