Our Time Together is Coming to an End

As I was coming home from signing my new lease this evening it dawned on me…at this time next week I will no longer be living in the apartment where I now sit and write these words. This apartment is about to become someone else’s home. I moved here a few short weeks after receiving my master’s degree. This apartment housed me during the stint at my first real adult job with a set pay, benefits, paid time off, and all that good stuff. And this apartment housed me when I lost that job due to a crappy economy. This apartment housed me during a tumultuous year of not quite knowing what I wanted to do with my life and trying to figure it all out. This apartment housed me while I figured it out and set myself on a path that feels authentic. The kitchen in this apartment is where Just Djuna granola came into being. This apartment has been where many dances have been created. This apartment has been where almost all of these blog posts have been written. This apartment has housed moments of love and fights. This apartment has been my home for three years. It is time to say good-bye to this home.

“Celebrate endings, for they precede new beginnings.” ~ Jonathan Lockwood Huie

About djunapassman

I teach yoga, write, and edit. I live in a Brooklyn neighborhood that is changing faster than I can, or care to, keep up with. Manhattan still beckons me to her island a few subways stops away, reminding me of when I lived amongst her daily hustle and bustle.
This entry was posted in Life Lessons, NYC Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

