Trying to Find My Inner Calm Amidst the Storm

After a sleepless night I decided to roll out my yoga mat amongst the boxes. I needed some centering and calming. I plopped myself into a cross-legged seat and started meditating. I spent a significant amount of time practicing nadi shodhana pranayama (alternate nostril breathing), which promotes greater calm and clarity in the mind and body. Then I spent a long time in balasana (child’s pose). I was not transported to a place of total calm and peace, but I was a little less anxious and slightly more energized. I was reminded of what one of my teachers said during the teacher training I went through, “Yoga is like my best friend. It is always there for me.”

About djunapassman

I teach yoga, write, and edit. I live in a Brooklyn neighborhood that is changing faster than I can, or care to, keep up with. Manhattan still beckons me to her island a few subways stops away, reminding me of when I lived amongst her daily hustle and bustle.
This entry was posted in Yoga. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

