Hello Summer

Today is the start of summer, my least favorite season. Sure I love sundresses, ice cream, time spent in the park, and daylight that never ends, but I am not a fan of hot weather or humidity. Today was the hottest day of the year, so far, summer is not going to be shy. I went to the Mind Over Madness Yoga event in Time Square this afternoon. It was basically unintended hot yoga outside. And while there are many things I could complain about, like the older woman who walked across several mats, including mine, with her street shoes, completely oblivious to her surroundings and was clearly there with her old cronies simply for the free schwag, which was not so great, I will instead focus on the positives.

There is nothing quite as magical as lying on your back doing a gentle vinyasa flow while looking at the passing clouds in the sky. There is nothing quite as unnerving as trying to quiet and center your mind with the noise of Time Square all around you and lit up billboards flashing at you from every direction. And yet, stopping in the middle of the day to do yoga with thousands of other people in what most tourists consider to be the epicenter of New York City is nothing short of an amazing experience. One of the first poses we did was baby bear (for those of you who know me, my parents’ nickname for me is bear). The teacher reminded us to nurture and love ourselves while also letting the energy from the best of ourselves reach and radiate out into Time Square…and he was funny.  I received some very loving adjustments from the teachers walking around. I felt strong, but also very, very tired and was remind of this when one of the teachers offering assists helped me through my vinyasa from chatturanga to upward dog, lifting my thighs says, “Let me help these tired legs,” then into downward dog where I could let my mind and breath settle. I have been pushing myself very hard lately and I don’t know how to stop. I felt a connection to more than just the thousands of yogis surrounding me, but those extending beyond the reaches of our fenced off city blocks as well. I was reminded that when I get out of my own way I can find santosha, otherwise known as contentment.

About djunapassman

I teach yoga, write, and edit. I live in a Brooklyn neighborhood that is changing faster than I can, or care to, keep up with. Manhattan still beckons me to her island a few subways stops away, reminding me of when I lived amongst her daily hustle and bustle.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

