Sprinkles!

I discovered, and quickly fell in love with, this blog a few days ago: www.forgivingmartha.com. The day I first learned of the blog I was presented with this posting: http://www.forgivingmartha.com/2012/06/sugar-cake-cookies.html. I know a two year old who LOVES sprinkles. She also loves baking cookies. I instantly knew I had to make the sprinkle sugar cake cookies with her.  Here is our story.

With an early summer heat wave in full effect only indoor activities allowing for full worshiping of central air conditioning were on the agenda. I had shown my two-year-old baking buddy pictures of the sprinkle cookies the day before and she was very excited about the prospect of making them. I was very excited that it was an easy recipe. Lately baking has been a little hit or miss as her fine motor skills are often put to good use measuring the dry ingredients and pouring them into the bowl then rapidly scooping the dry goods onto the counter top while I am mixing wet ingredients leaving us with slightly unknown quantities of vital ingredients like flour and baking powder.

We managed to make the dough without any major hitches. I even got the dough formed and placed on the cookie sheets without my assistant picking apart the dough and creating her own oddly shaped and sized chunks of dough that would inevitably burn instantly or never bake through. I did however fail to keep a careful eye on the sprinkle decoration portion of this operation.

Yup, that is a whole jar of sprinkles on one cookie. Notice the dish filled with sprinkles that the expert decorator is utilizing post sprinkle explosion.

There are few things better than decorating cookies with sprinkles.

Well, eating the finished product is pretty great too.

I didn’t love the cookies, I felt like they needed a little extra something, but my baking buddy and her friend, who received a special delivery from us post baking, loved these cookies. To say they are a hit with the toddler crowd would be an understatement. And I suffered through eating three of them just to make sure I wasn’t crazy about them.

Thank you for the great idea and blog posting, Jess.

About djunapassman

I teach yoga, write, and edit. I live in a Brooklyn neighborhood that is changing faster than I can, or care to, keep up with. Manhattan still beckons me to her island a few subways stops away, reminding me of when I lived amongst her daily hustle and bustle.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Little Ones. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

