Mindfully Not Present

I really struggled to be mindful and present in my life today. I taught two yoga classes, guiding students through breathing exercises and asana practices, reminding them to be fully present in their practices, in the moment. I myself did not do so well. After a day of not letting myself feel what I was feeling in the moment, experience what I was experiencing in the moment, and not allowing myself to be fully present in each situation I was presented with I came home to scarf down dinner. I then took a glass of wine to my bedroom window and as I was about to pull the shade down noticed a firefly, then another, and another. For the first time I allowed myself to be fully present, fully aware. I became conscious of my breath, conscious of how I was feeling physically, emotionally, and mentally, I allowed myself to simply be in the present moment, with myself and the view below of fireflies.

I watched this video, which is a good reminder of what mindfulness is, and reminded myself that I can allow myself a fresh start, right now, mindfully in the present.

About djunapassman

I teach yoga, write, and edit. I live in a Brooklyn neighborhood that is changing faster than I can, or care to, keep up with. Manhattan still beckons me to her island a few subways stops away, reminding me of when I lived amongst her daily hustle and bustle.
This entry was posted in Mindfulness (or quieting an overactive mind). Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

