We Are All Special

I found myself in tears this evening. Not because the story that had just been told on one of my favorite radio programs, This American Life, was sad, but because it reminded me of something I still struggle to remember. We all have the capacity to love and be loved JUST AS WE ARE. While we jump through hoops and ring bells to distract others we cheat everyone, including ourselves, of who we really are. Sure, there are times and places when showing all of ourselves is not so kosher, but there are times when we have to trust, we have to trust that we really are good enough just as we are. Our differences, whether they be physical, like Mary’s, behavioral, emotional, or mental, are what make us unique. Perhaps it is the acceptance and revealing of these unique parts of ourselves that keeps those we should be surrounded by near and dear and those who are not meant to be in our lives at safe distances.

The Prologue and Act I are what got me this evening, but the whole show is worth listening to.

http://www.thisamericanlife.org/radio-archives/episode/469/hiding-in-plain-sight

About djunapassman

I teach yoga, write, and edit. I live in a Brooklyn neighborhood that is changing faster than I can, or care to, keep up with. Manhattan still beckons me to her island a few subways stops away, reminding me of when I lived amongst her daily hustle and bustle.
This entry was posted in Life Lessons. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

