I Wanted My Stinkin’ Sunrise

There are perks to getting up at 5:00AM. Okay, there aren’t perks there is a perk – singular. This perk is watching the sunrise. I found myself having to rise at 5:00AM this morning and while I had gotten almost enough sleep my body simply does not like to be awake before 8:00AM. I petted my cat, puttered about my apartment, figured out that I had to pour the coffee out of the French Press and into my coffee cup in order to drink it, somehow found my mouth and figured out how to tip my coffee cup just enough so that coffee slid into my mouth but not all over the front of my shirt (this does not always happen, even after plenty of sleep and during normal mornings hours), then plopped myself down in the armchair in my bedroom, ready to watch the sunrise. I have the luxury of bedroom windows that face east. Last time I had to be up at 5:00AM I got to watch the sunrise and the beautiful streaks of pink and orange that painted the sky with those first rays of light. This morning I sat, I drank my coffee, I woke up…a little, and still no sunrise. I checked my phone to see what time the sunrise was supposed to be. Okay, I was early; summer is rapidly heading toward autumn so sunrise wasn’t until 5:41AM. I got dressed, managed to squeeze my contact lenses into my resistantly tired eyeballs, put on enough make-up to make me look quasi awake, then plopped down in my chair to finish my coffee and watch the sunrise. I waited. And waited. And waited. Turns out I was too tired to realize the sky was filled with heavy clouds obstructing the view of anything but their beauty. Thankfully I was off to a class of lovely students ready to practice yoga before starting their days. Their positive energy and blissful smiles at the end of class made my 5:00AM awakening and lack of sunrise worthwhile. (To say that I am ridiculously tired and only mildly functional as I write this would be an understatement. Even the great energy buzz and warm fuzzy feelings after teaching a yoga class do not adequately get you through an entire day when you rise before the sun.)

About djunapassman

I teach yoga, write, and edit. I live in a Brooklyn neighborhood that is changing faster than I can, or care to, keep up with. Manhattan still beckons me to her island a few subways stops away, reminding me of when I lived amongst her daily hustle and bustle.
This entry was posted in Yoga. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

