What Does the Future Hold…

This past Saturday I trekked out to Coney Island with my friends from California. Apparently, Coney Island is the birthplace of Skee Ball (1909). My friend is a bit of a Skee Ball fanatic. She is also really freakin’ good. She almost beat the highest score on record there. I, on the other hand, discovered I really suck at Skee Ball. After lots of Skee Ball playing and a trip to Nathan’s for hotdogs, French fires for the vegetarians, we ventured deeper into the sea of arcade games and rides. After cashing in our tickets for prizes at the second stop we walked out to find ourselves face to face with the Zoltar machine. You know, the one in the movie, Big. I decided $1 was a small price to pay for having my fortune told by a famous fortuneteller.

I slipped my dollar bill into the money slot and watched as Zoltar came to life. He went through his spiel, listen, keep your mouth shut when being given advice, blah, blah, blah. Finally, the moment of truth, Zoltar wound down like a wind-up toy that has lost its steam, the machine made some funky noises, and my fortune was spit out from the designated slot. I won’t lie, I was filled with anticipation and child-like glee. I was really excited, and a little nervous, for my fortune. I saw a jagged tuft of yellow paper peeking out from the slot and tugged. The moment of truth was finally here…

What does one do with that? I briefly contemplated putting another dollar into the machine, but you can’t just shove dollars into a machine until you get a fortune you like. Can you? Besides, I was all out of one-dollar bills. I was stuck with my non-fortune. I did confront Zoltar about this. Okay, I kind of yelled at him a little. The jerk just stared at me with this faraway blank stare. Then I tucked the “fortune” into my wallet. Is my future too amazing to be contained on a little yellow card? Or does so little of my future lie ahead of me that there was simply no need to give a fortune? Am I reading too much into all of this? And where’s the person who got two fortunes for the price of one from Zoltar? They owe me a dollar, well, maybe just 75cents.

About djunapassman

I teach yoga, write, and edit. I live in a Brooklyn neighborhood that is changing faster than I can, or care to, keep up with. Manhattan still beckons me to her island a few subways stops away, reminding me of when I lived amongst her daily hustle and bustle.
This entry was posted in Life Lessons. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

