Oh Summer…

I spent the better part of this afternoon laying on the couch reading. The fan pointed directly on me, a cool drink in the hand not holding a book, wondering if the droplet of liquid running down my arm was condensation from my glass or sweat. As I casually flipped through the autumn catalog of one of my favorite brands I found myself longing for autumn to be here already. (If you are feeling like you need to get me a gift, for any reason, may I point you in the direction of:

http://www.bodenusa.com/en-US/Womens-Knitwear/Cardigans/WK748/Womens-Merino-Cardigan.html?NavGroupID=6

Size: 4

Color: Russet

or

http://www.bodenusa.com/en-US/Womens-Shoes-Boots/Boots/AZ155/Womens-Classic-Boots.html?NavGroupID=11

Size: 38

Color Black or Petrol

I know, with global warming I may never get any use out of these items, but I’m still an optimistic realist.)

I am ready for summer to be over! While this summer seems to be flying by at warp speed, (Where did June and July go?) I am ready to be done with it. Yes, some dear friends have visited and I genuinely cherished the time spent with them. Yes, one of my close friends is moving back to New York next month putting an end to scheduling Skype dates that were too infrequent due to a six-hour time difference and crazy schedules. These are not minor things to overlook. They may in the end be what I remember of this summer. And still, the thick, humid air, the blisteringly hot days interspersed with thunderstorms and downpours, seem to be dragging me down. (Oh if only I had gotten that apartment with central air.) It feels hard to shift out of this inertia that has taken hold of me for the last month or so. My motivation seems to be at an all time low these days. The excitement of summer just kind of bypassed me this year. I suppose the fact that this summer did contain a graduation, a horrific bought of unemployment, or a yoga teacher-training course make it seem kind of drab and inconsequential by comparison. I should probably be grateful that things are just kind of muddling along right now. I’ll be grateful come fall, when I need a sweater because there is a real chill in the air and not because the subway is over air-conditioned.

About djunapassman

I teach yoga, write, and edit. I live in a Brooklyn neighborhood that is changing faster than I can, or care to, keep up with. Manhattan still beckons me to her island a few subways stops away, reminding me of when I lived amongst her daily hustle and bustle.
This entry was posted in NYC Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

