Smoothie Update

I did it. I added kale and avocado to my smoothie today. The result…not so awesome. I guess if you like your smoothie the consistency of pudding it wasn’t so bad. The avocado made the smoothie so rich and creamy I couldn’t finish it in one sitting, thank goodness I only used half an avocado. I may not be doing that again anytime soon, but I do have different thoughts on the raw, vegan, chocolate pudding recipe that features avocados as the star of the dish.

I realized today that I am not so great at following recipes. How on earth I have managed to become the baker I am with my recipe deviant ways is beyond me. I suppose I simply memorized the ratio of main ingredients that make baked goods work, remember not to mess with those, then wing it ’til my heart’s content. I don’t really like being told what I have to have in my kitchen to make a dish work. Why can’t I just use the stuff I already have on hand? Oh wait, that’s what I do. And that is perhaps why some of my smoothies have been less than stellar lately. I’m starting to get the hang of the smoothie thing, but when a recipe calls for blueberries, it’s a good idea not to substitute pineapple and be pissed at the weird flavors enveloping your tongue on the first sip. I have also realized most of the recipes call for added honey, agave, or sweetener of some kind. I am morally opposed to adding sweetener to something that has loads of fruit in it (okay, not when it comes to cobblers or pies). This may be why some of my smoothies have tasted a little like slightly sweet vegetables with almond butter. I’m going to keep working at it though, and when I have more than one smoothie recipe that is yummy enough to share I will. Or maybe I should just start a cautionary list of things not to do when making smoothies.

About djunapassman

I teach yoga, write, and edit. I live in a Brooklyn neighborhood that is changing faster than I can, or care to, keep up with. Manhattan still beckons me to her island a few subways stops away, reminding me of when I lived amongst her daily hustle and bustle.
This entry was posted in Cooking. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

