Writing a Book

Recently a friend asked, “How’s your book coming?” Oh god, I had hoped everyone had just forgotten about that thing. I replied with something ambiguous enough to not be a complete lie. Something like, “It’s coming…slowly.” I have been feeling the drive to write more, and not just for this blog, recently. Yesterday I spent some time really writing, but it felt odd, somehow wrong,to be typing at the computer. I felt the need to work things out with a pen and paper. Toady I took advantage of all the back-to-school sales and bought myself a notebook for 50¢ and a pack of my favorite pens for $4. Tonight I am settling at my kitchen table with my new notebook and pens. Let the writing commence.

“I’m writing a book. I’ve got the page numbers done.” ~Steven Wright

About djunapassman

I teach yoga, write, and edit. I live in a Brooklyn neighborhood that is changing faster than I can, or care to, keep up with. Manhattan still beckons me to her island a few subways stops away, reminding me of when I lived amongst her daily hustle and bustle.
This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

