Blessing or Curse?

I have spent a lot of time thinking about technology and how dependent I, and everyone I know, have become upon technology. When my laptop died last week I realized just how much time I spend on my computer each day – it’s a lot. I also realized how much I had stored within that tiny rectangle of plastic and metal. I had photos, videos, music, and writing from the last five years stored on my laptop. Much of it was not stored anywhere else. (Go ahead let the, “You should back up all your files” comments commence.)When I think of what I would grab were my home on fire or under threat and I had to evacuate, my cat, wallet, phone, and laptop are the first things that come to mind. Once upon a time there were photo albums, record and video collections. Now, for most of us, the vast majority of these things are stored on our computers and/or smart phones. It is true, “you don’t know what you’ve got ‘til it’s gone.” I am eagerly looking forward to the arrival of my new laptop, but I am also greatly questioning how much I will entrust it with the things that capture what is important and meaningful in my life. My writing, music, photos, and videos enrich and enliven my life, they capture the essence of my creativity, the memories I want to preserve, and the ways in which I choose to share myself with others. It is a true gift of modern technology that I am able to store all of these things on one compact machine that I can tote around with me. It is also a bit of a curse.

About djunapassman

I teach yoga, write, and edit. I live in a Brooklyn neighborhood that is changing faster than I can, or care to, keep up with. Manhattan still beckons me to her island a few subways stops away, reminding me of when I lived amongst her daily hustle and bustle.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

