Beware: Politics Below

Warning! This post breaks Irish pub rules. We are talking politics today. Adult language is used. Be advised, I am a liberal leaning Democrat.

Today I forced myself to listen to Republican after Republican talk. NPR, in the name of unbiased journalism, has devoted its airwaves to the Republican National Convention that is underway. Mother Nature tried to stop them with a hurricane, but they are an undeterable bunch. I am trying to be open. I am trying to practice living my life my with less judgement, keeping my mind and heart open to differing views and opinions. My blood was boiling by 10:00AM.

Romney deserves to pay a smaller percentage in taxes than I do because he takes risks with his money and needs to be encouraged to continue doing so for the betterment of this country?!? By saying he has to pay more in taxes we are sending the message that we do not value success and those that disagree are simply jealous?!? Are you out of your fucking mind?!? Try telling that to the inner city, minority, poverty-stricken kid who only has access to unsafe, shitty public schools and is either too hungry to concentrate on learning, taking care of multiple younger siblings when home, or in a juvenile detention center for stealing or selling drugs in an attempt to pull out of a hopeless situation. I will keep the rest of my rant brief and focused. I could go on and one about all of the ridiculousness I heard, but I shall save some of the much bigger issues for another day.

Obamacare is causing a lot of uproar. I can buy that small businesses are hesitant to hire new employees for fear they will not be able to afford proper coverage for all employees under Obamacare. I do not, however, support living in a first world country where not all citizens have healthcare and it has become commonplace to hear stories of families going bankrupt attempting to pay off medical bills. Adequate healthcare is not a luxury. Being able to physically, mentally, and emotionally attend to your health and well-being, and that of your family’s, is not something that should be reserved for the rich or for those who happen to have a job with benefits. I know many hard-working, well-educated, middle class Americans who work full-time and do not have health insurance because their jobs do not provide it and they cannot afford a plan that would reasonably cover them should anything happen. That is simply not acceptable. If we can send young men and women to war, we can take care of them when they come home. If you want to take away a woman’s right to choose when and how she has children then that women and those children need to have the best healthcare money can buy, at a reasonable out-of-pocket cost. Let’s stop futzing over the fact that jobs are being lost because of this, jobs that are going to be outsourced to India in the next year anyway, and focus on providing everyone with a basic human right.

If you grossly disagree I would love to hear from you. If you have something thought provoking and intelligent to say I am striving to be as open as possible. I have become very aware of how fixed my mindset is when faced with political viewpoints that differ greatly from my own. I may not ultimately change my mind, but I would like to be as well-informed as possible while I stubbornly stick to my opinions.

About djunapassman

I teach yoga, write, and edit. I live in a Brooklyn neighborhood that is changing faster than I can, or care to, keep up with. Manhattan still beckons me to her island a few subways stops away, reminding me of when I lived amongst her daily hustle and bustle.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

