Getting the Creative Juices Flowing

This evening I attended an event where two young (one termed rising and one termed emerging) choreographers spoke about creating work. Some of the questions asked got me thinking. What would my answers be? What would other artists answers be? Below are some of the questions asked and some of my own. I would love to hear from other creators. What inspires you? What gets your creative wheels turning? What keeps your creative wheels greased?

What artist would you like to collaborate with?

Olafur Eliasson

Choreographer that inspires you?

Bill T. Jones

Visual Artist that inspires you?

Louise Bourgeois

What music are you listening to now?

Olafur Arnalds – …and they have escaped the…

Cat Power – Sun

What book are you reading now?

Why Be Happy When You Could Be Normal? by Jeanette Winterson

The Quiet Room: A Journey Out of the Torment of Madness by Lori Schiller and Amanda Bennett (rereading as research for my book)

About djunapassman

I teach yoga, write, and edit. I live in a Brooklyn neighborhood that is changing faster than I can, or care to, keep up with. Manhattan still beckons me to her island a few subways stops away, reminding me of when I lived amongst her daily hustle and bustle.
This entry was posted in Dance, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

