I Fell Off the Wagon

I have a confession to make. I have fallen off the wagon. I have been eating horribly lately. My plan to go vegan this month has completely gone by the wayside. My healthy eating has also been kicked to the curb. I had cheese doodles, gluten free, baked cheese doodles mind you, for dinner last night and washed them down with a pumpkin ale – at 11:00PM. I usually juice first thing every morning, or I have a small pitcher of freshly made juice from the night before. Delicious green, or red if I’m using beets, goodness flooding my bloodstream with nutrients first thing in the morning. I haven’t juiced in almost a week. My daily smoothies, not so daily. This evening I came home and my body was craving fresh vegetables. An artisanal grilled cheese, pickles, and treats from Jacque Torres made for an amazing lunch, but not a whole lot of greenery there. No problem, my refrigerator is bursting forth with veggies…veggies I bought over a week ago that have gone bad. I found a zucchini that was miraculously still good, a few carrots, and a package of spinach I bought last night to make a smoothie this morning. Perfect! Sauté the few salvageable veggies, toss that in with the Tupperware of brown rice in the fridge, and it’s an instant healthy meal. That is if the brown rice had been less than a week and a half old and loaded with preservatives. Neon pink mold does exist I have seen it with my own two eyes. There was no way I could wait 50 minutes for rice to cook at 9:00PM. I was dangerously close to eating the avocado I bought with the spinach last night and calling it dinner. Thankfully, mid cabinet raid, I discovered a box of couscous that cooks up in 5 minutes. A healthy dinner was suddenly possible again. Along with the awful realization that I have to take better care of myself in the nutrition department and make cooking and eating healthy foods a top priority again. Being an adult kind of sucks some times.

About djunapassman

I teach yoga, write, and edit. I live in a Brooklyn neighborhood that is changing faster than I can, or care to, keep up with. Manhattan still beckons me to her island a few subways stops away, reminding me of when I lived amongst her daily hustle and bustle.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Life Lessons. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

