The City That Never Sleeps Has Shut Down

I am either well suited for disaster or Darwinism has yet to fully weed out my kind. While everyone was rushing out to the grocery stores and there were reports of only scented candles being left in NYC I sat home watching people walk along my street weighted down with bags upon bags of supplies. After a quick inventory of my kitchen I concluded I had fruits and veggies, leftovers, baking supplies, and sufficient wine. As far as I was concerned I had all the necessary staples for survival. It was time to start planning what I would bake the next day. I was totally calm and unfazed by what I deemed to be media sensationalism regarding the storm heading my way.

The night before the storm my friend picked me up to bring me to her house for dinner. We concluded that ice cream was needed for dessert and I dashed into a bodega around the corner from her apartment. The shelves were bare. The freezer, usually stocked with ice cream, was empty. I mean completely empty. The only things on the shelves were items that can’t really be considered edible on their own. There were spices, some weird, unidentifiable drinks in the refrigerators, and not much else. That is when I started to panic a little. Should I have stocked up on food? Should I be panicking and preparing for disaster? Was I a fool for not freaking out with the rest of the East Coast? We found a store that still had ice cream so there was no need for any panic.

I can hear the wind howling outside. The rain occasionally beats against my windows then its drumming fades away. The only other sounds are occasional sirens in the distance. There are no children’s voices from the school at the end of the block. No cars driving down the street. No one is walking down the sidewalk and none of my neighbors who usually sit on their stoops are out today. It feels a little eerie and ominous. The storm that hit last night was scary at times. I did not lose power, I am far enough from the water to be safe from flooding, and despite a large tree coming dangerously close to crashing through one of my bedroom windows I am safe and there is no damage to my apartment. I am lucky. I also would have been royally screwed had anything actually happened to my place during the storm last night. I will never be one of those people who stock up on enough supplies to survive any apocalyptic disasters, but I will probably buy a couple of bottles of water, make sure my flashlights have working batteries, and stock up on foods that do not need refrigeration next time.

About djunapassman

I teach yoga, write, and edit. I live in a Brooklyn neighborhood that is changing faster than I can, or care to, keep up with. Manhattan still beckons me to her island a few subways stops away, reminding me of when I lived amongst her daily hustle and bustle.
This entry was posted in Life Lessons, NYC Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

