I Need A Day Off After My Day Off

Sundays are my day off. I mean, stay in my pajamas, lay on the couch, cook, bake, lay on the couch some more, listen to NPR, have a glass of wine, go to bed kind of day off. I work Tuesday-Saturday with Saturday being a 10-12 hour day most weeks. By Sunday I am exhausted and in need of a little recharging. This week I decided I was going to get out and do stuff on Sunday. With Thanksgiving a few days away I thought I could just push through one more day.

By noon I desperately needed to hit the reset button. I was dragging, feeling kind of crappy, and had one of the messiest kitchen explosions ever – mashed up berry stains on a brand new shirt (not a black one) and splatters on every square inch of my kitchen. I yelled, if I had a child that child would be going to school Monday morning armed with an arsenal of new, inappropriate words, I threw kitchen towels with all my might in the general direction of the largest spills, I yelled some more, the cat glared at me from afar, then I got down on my hands and knees and started scrubbing. I was beginning to feel like Alexander in Alexander and the Horrible, Terrible, No Good, Very Bad Day.

I got myself out of the house. Still tired and cranky I settled into a seat on the subway only to find I had hit the most emotional part of the book I’m currently reading. Not feeling like crying in public I decided to tuck my book away and stare at the floor. I was instantly bored and getting deeper and deeper into my bad mood funk. Off the subway I headed to one of my favorite stores for a little retail therapy before running errands. I was greeted by tons of early holiday shoppers. It was insanity. Sure they were having a good sale, but this was ridiculous. I left with a cashmere sweater and a pair of pajamas. The thought of going home to eat ice cream in super soft flannel pajamas then starting off Monday (hopefully on a better note) in a cozy cashmere sweater made the horrors of holiday shopping crowds and blaring Christmas music before Thanksgiving a little more tolerable. I finished my errands and headed home with all the necessary, and unnecessary goods, acquired, still wishing I had a reset button, but very excited to obliterate the day by consuming ice cream and wine in new pajamas. This will be the last time I mess with my day off.

About djunapassman

I teach yoga, write, and edit. I live in a Brooklyn neighborhood that is changing faster than I can, or care to, keep up with. Manhattan still beckons me to her island a few subways stops away, reminding me of when I lived amongst her daily hustle and bustle.
This entry was posted in Life Lessons, NYC Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

